Paper or plastic? Choose wisely

October 10, 2008 at 12:04 am Leave a comment

As a new and recent victim of debit card fraud, I wanted to make a quick post and encourage everyone to try and use paper money instead of credit cards or, in my case especially, debit cards.

My bank called me just the other day to talk to me about some purchases that were showing up on my debit card. I then went to check my balance online and found that there was about six fraudulant charges on my debit card. My bank, and yours too, take note of odd and out of the ordinary purchases on your card. If they feel like something is fishy, they call you immediately to confirm the purchases.

Although I am unsure how someone compromised my debit card number, I will never use my card unless I desperately need to. I have always been one of those guyswho never has any cash because I used my debit card like it’s my wallet. Well, from now on that will change. There are many articles written on exactly how the scam works, usually stealing your information through ATM’s, gas station pumps, or online shopping. Using the easy method of paying at the pump and quick swipes in stores is nice, but when using your card could cost you all the money in your bank account, it’s just not worth it.

A thorough investigation can be seen here. This is a serious crime that is spreading state-by-state all over the nation. In the rough times that we find ourselves in today, no one can afford to become a victim of such an annoying act. When you’re thinking about paper money or plastic cards, please choose wisely.

Entry filed under: Good Lookin' Out, Regular Posting. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Thursday Night ACC Upset Alert Lucky Seven: NFL Power Rankings Wk. 7

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Twitter Updates

  • Rumors: Gruden as head coach of Skins and Bruce Allen as GM. Yikes! 7 years ago
  • Rumors Surfacing: Shanahan Is Coming to Washington and he'll have complete control as coach and GM. 7 years ago
  • Redskins: Zorn Stays, Campbell Stays, and Holmgren Joins the Party. Saying Hello to a New Era? 7 years ago
October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

